

sponsored by TOPTICA PHOTONICS AG

The Senior and Junior BEC Awards 2015 honor outstanding research in Experimental and/or Theoretical Physics of Quantum Degenerate Atomic Gases. The senior prize recognizes work that is firmly established and has significantly advanced the field of quantum degenerate gases. The junior prize recognizes outstanding work by a young scientist for independent research early in his or her academic career. Each prize consists of a 2500 Euro cash award, and a certificate citing the contributions of the recipients. The prizes are awarded under the auspices of the biannual BEC conference and are sponsored by TOPTICA Photonics AG.

## **Rules & Eligibility**

Nominations may be made by any member of the international scientific community. Both the senior and the junior prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person but may be shared when all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment. While there is no strict division between the senior and junior categories, junior scientists should have received their last academic degree less than about 15 years ago. In general, recipients of the Nobel Prize are not eligible for the BEC Awards, unless the accomplishments cited in the nomination represent new or different work.

## **Nomination & Selection Process**

Nominations should be sent by email to <ehud.altman@weizmann.ac.il> no later than June 1, 2015. The nomination must include, as a single pdf attachment, a letter by the nominator(s) describing the accomplishments to be recognized and a citation. A CV and a list of relevant publications may be included, but are not required. Self-nominations are not accepted, and nominees should not be involved in or informed of the nomination process. Nor should the members of the selection committee be nominated.

**2015 Committee Members:** Ehud Altman, Chair BEC Awards 2015, Immanuel Bloch, Markus Greiner, Wolfgang Ketterle, Gora Shylapnikov, Ian Spielman, Christophe Salomon, Chair of BEC 2015, Päivi Törmä. The Scientific Committee of the BEC conference elected the committee members.